How to Get Your Florida Learner’s License
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles requires that new drivers who have never held a license before complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course AND take the Class E Knowledge Exam in order to get a learner’s license. You may schedule the Knowledge Exam at one of the Florida Service Centers after completing the TLSAE course.
FLORIDA LEARNER’S LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
- Be at least 15 years old
- Complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Course
- Provide a parental consent form, if you are under 18, which must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner or may be notarized if your parent or guardian will not be present
- Provide documents needed to establish your proof of identity, proof of social security number (if issued), and proof of residential address. Please visit FL DHSMV for information regarding these required documents
- Take the Class E Knowledge exam containing 50 multiple-choice questions about traffic laws and signs. You must have 40 correct answers to pass (80%). If you do not pass on the first try, you will need to pay the knowledge exam retest fee.
- Take vision and hearing tests
- Pay the application fee for an Original Class E License, which includes your Learner’s License
TRAINING WITH A PARENT OR GUARDIAN
Florida law requires drivers holding a learner’s license to drive with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat at all times.
You may drive during daylight hours for the first three months you hold your permit. After three months, you may drive until 10 p.m. You still cannot drive by yourself until you are at least 16 years old and have obtained your intermediate license.
You’ll need to complete at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience, of which 10 hours must be at night. When you apply for your intermediate license, your parent or guardian will need to certify that you have completed the practice hours.
1. Enroll Online
Trying to get your driving permit? Sign up with OnlineDriversEd.com and take our online Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course.
2. Complete the Course
Our Florida TLSAE course is easy to do. It is divided into 7 sections, with review quizzes and a final exam to get you ready for the state test.
3. Certificate Sent for You
Once you complete the course your certificate is sent electronically to the Florida DHSMV.
4. You're Ready to Drive
Completing the Florida TLSAE course online prepares you for your learner’s permit test so you can get on the road!
Frequently Asked Questions
The course is a 4 hour course as required by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Anyone of any age can take the online course! If you have never held a regular driver license in any state, country, or jurisdiction, you must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course before applying for a temporary driving permit (restricted driver license) in the state of Florida.
Once you complete the online course we will send your certificate of completion electronically to the Florida DHSMV. The driver license or tax collector office will have your electronic completion information available when you arrive to apply for your learner’s license.