Nevada Learners Permit Requirements
In order to apply for a Nevada learners permit you must:
- Be at least 15½.
- Have a social security number and card.
- Verify your identity by providing your birth certificate, US Passport, or another accepted document. Only the original or a certified copy will be accepted.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass a written test. There are 50 multiple choice questions based on the Nevada Drivers Handbook, and a passing score is 80%.
- Complete the application form for a permit and the minor affidavit and information sheet.
- Have a parent/guardian sign the financial responsibility section on the application.
- Pay the application and licensing fee.
- Have Certificate of School Attendance DMV form #301 signed by the high school administrator.
Your Nevada learners permit is valid for one year. If your Nevada drivers permit expires you must apply for a renewal in person at a DMV office, and your parent or guardian must sign another financial responsibility statement. If the Nevada drivers permit is more than 30 days expired you will have to take another written test. If the Nevada drivers permit is more than one year expired, you will need to show proof of identity again. Renewal and re-testing fees will apply.
Training With A Parent or Guardian
Nevada law requires drivers under the age of 18 holding an instructional Nevada learners permit to drive with an adult 21 years of age or older who has a valid Nevada driver license and is seated next to you at all times.
Permit drivers must complete 50 hours of in-car training (10 hours must be completed at night) You must keep a written log on the DMV approved form DLD-130 of the dates and times you performed in car training. Your parent or guardian must sign this form and submit it when you apply for a driver license.
Nevada Drivers Permit
The Nevada DMV allows beginning drivers between the ages of 15 ½ and 18 to obtain a learners permit, also called an instruction permit, without taking a driver’s education course. Instead, the Nevada DMV requires that you take a driver’s education course to become eligible to get your driver’s license.
To get your Nevada drivers permit, you will need to appear at your local DMV office and take a written test based on the Nevada Drivers Handbook, as well as fulfill the permit requirements.
Your permit will allow you to practice driving with a licensed driver 21 years of age or older, who has been licensed for at least one year, seated next to you.
For more information about getting your Nevada driver’s license, please see our Nevada Driver’s License Information page. We also recommend visiting the Nevada DMV’s Teen Driving page for a complete list of requirements for getting your permit and your driver’s license.