Spring Sale - 10% off! There's no better time to take an online drivers ed course. For 10% off your course fee, use offer code SpringOde.
Nevada Drivers License Requirements
In order to apply for your Nevada drivers license you must:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Hold your permit for at least 6 months prior to applying.
- Have no at-fault accidents in 6 months prior to applying.
- Have no moving violation convictions in 6 months prior to applying.
- Have no drug or alcohol convictions in the 6 months prior to applying.
You must also meet the following drivers education and training requirements:
- Have completed a drivers education course.
- Have completed 50 hours of in-car training and logged this information in a completed DLD-130 form, signed by a parent or guardian.
- Meet the minimum Nevada school attendance requirements.
Before you go to the DMV, schedule an appointment in advance. You will be taking a skills test before you can receive your Nevada driver license.
What to Bring to the DMV for your Nevada Driving Test
Bring the following documents with you to your DMV driving skills test appointment:
- Parent/Guardian (must sign Financial Responsibility Statement and Affidavit for Minor to be Licensed)
- Instruction Permit
- Proof of Identity
- Drivers Education Certificate of Completion
- Completed Beginning Driver Experience Log (DLD-130)
- Vehicle with Certificate of Registration and Evidence of Insurance Card
- Certificate of School Attendance DMV form #301.
Nevada Driver License Restrictions
Drivers under age 18 may not:
- Transport any passenger under the age of 18, except for immediate family members, for the first six months after the Nevada drivers license was issued.
- Drive between 10 pm and 5 am unless they are traveling to or from a scheduled event such as a school function or work. Law enforcement officials may ask for documentation of the scheduled event. This law applies until the driver turns 18.
How to Get Drivers License for Nevada
The Nevada DMV requires that you be at least 16 years of age to get your driver’s license. You must have held your learners permit for at least 6 months, and have no at-fault accidents, no moving violation convictions, and no drug or alcohol convictions in the 6 months prior to applying. You must also have completed an approved 30 hour drivers education course and logged 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience with a licensed adult.
OnlineDriversEd.com meets Nevada’s 30 hour requirement for drivers education. Once you complete your course, your certificate of completion will be available to you instantly as a PDF file to download, save, and print.
Once you have met the requirements to apply for your driver’s license, you will need to schedule a drive test appointment at your local DMV office.
While you are under 18, your driver’s license is subject to certain restrictions. For the first 6 months after your license is issued, you may not transport any passenger under the age of 18 except for immediate family members. Until you turn 18, you may not drive between the hours of 10 PM and 5 AM. Please also be aware of varying local curfews in Nevada cities.
For more information about the requirements and procedures for getting and holding your Nevada driver’s license, we recommend visiting the Nevada DMV’s Teen Driving page.