Getting a Florida driver's license can be quite an involved process. One needs a permit before getting a license, but how do I get my Florida driving permit?
In this article, we will briefly summarize the process to get a Florida driver's permit, followed by your Florida driver's license.
The path to obtaining your Florida license is most easily broken down into 4 steps.
Step 1 - The TLSAE:
The first step is to complete a Florida-approved Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Awareness Education (TLSAE) course. Florida requires all persons wishing to obtain a Florida driver's license to attend a TLSAE course, regardless of age or previous driving status issued in another state. Indeed, even those with a driver's license in a different state must take a TLSAE course if they want a Florida driver's license. Fortunately, the TLSAE is a brief course, with an average completion time of just 4 hours, that can easily be taken online at your convenience.
Step 2 - The Permit Test:
So, you've completed the TLSAE course, what's next? Think of acquiring the permit as a 2-part process. The first step is the TLSAE course, and the second step is to take what's known as a Class-E Knowledge Exam. There are many approved locations that offer the knowledge exam, but it is most commonly taken at the DMV or Florida tax-collectors office. Here is a complete list of DMV-approved in-person testing sites. Although some of the curricula from the TLSAE (such as road signs and regulations) will be present on the knowledge exam, passing both the TLSAE and the Class-E Knowledge Exam are requirements to get a Florida driving permit.
Step 3 - Practice Makes Perfect:
Now that you have your provisional driving permit, you can practice driving until you are confident in your ability to pass a driving test. As an important and sometimes overlooked step, be sure that you have auto insurance coverage while you practice driving, as insurance is mandatory before getting a Florida driver's license.
Step 4 - Behind The Wheel
Now that you have passed the TLSAE, the Class-E exam, and have practiced driving; you should know road signs, road rules, and regulations that you will need to pass the behind-the-wheel test proctored at the DMV. Completing the behind-the-wheel test means you can get your Florida-issued Class-E driver's license.
Still have more questions? Need some clarification? You can contact our online support team. Alternatively, here are some frequently asked questions explored in more detail below.
Q - What if I already have a license in another state?
A- The state of Florida still requires all would-be Florida-licensed drivers to pass both the TLSAE course and the Class-E Knowledge Exam. For more details about the TLSAE course, feel free to contact us at 866-836-8952.
Q - What if I’m over 18 years old? Do I still need to take this test?
A- Regardless of the age of the applicant, The TLSAE, Class-E Knowledge Exam, and behind-the-wheel tests are all required.
Q - What if I want to do the whole thing online?
A-While some schools offer both the TLSAE and Class-E Knowledge Exam as a bundle, they tend to be more expensive than simply taking the TLSAE online and then taking the Class-E Knowledge Exam at your local DMV branch or tax-collectors office. Presently, we only offer the TLSAE course.
Q - How do I get my “S-Number”?
A- The s-number is the unique identifying number issued to a student after completing the Class-E Knowledge Exam.
Q - Where can I get additional information about driver education programs or additional study materials?
A - You can obtain information about our TLSAE program by contacting us at OnlineDriversEd.com, and you can acquire additional study resources from the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles.